Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven

The Holy Family with God the Father and the Ho...

Image via Wikipedia

Can O' God
Got God?

Psalm 71

1 In you, O LORD(Holy Spirit of God), I have taken refuge;
let me never be put to shame(For it is you that sustains me since the beginning when you gave the first breath of life).

2 Rescue me and deliver me in your righteousness(so that I too may earn the right to become a child of God);
turn your ear to me and save me(hear my prayer as I come humble before thee).

3 Be my rock of refuge, (foundation that I must build my house, life and host upon) 
to which I can always go; (for you have been there waiting for the harvest and I must be cleansed)
give the command to save me, (so that I may be reborn in spirit casting aside the wickedness of flesh)
for you are my rock and my fortress. (the foundation upon which all is made eternal)

4 Deliver me, O my God(for it is through the Holy Spirit in which I call), from the hand of the wicked( the sin and wickedness of the world),
from the grasp of evil and cruel men. (for they are blind in spirit and have turned away from your light)

5 For you have been my hope, O Sovereign LORD(Holy Spirit of God),
my confidence since my youth(since being born into the flesh of the world a test of faith for your reward).

6 From birth I have relied on you;
you brought me forth from my mother’s womb(from the Kingdom of Heaven through my mother’s womb) .
I will ever praise you.

7 I have become like a portent to many,
but you are my strong refuge.

~Praise you in this storm by Casting Crowns

8 My mouth is filled with your praise, (as I speak of your words and wisdom giving Glory to God)
declaring your splendor all day long. (for through you(Holy Spirit of God) all things are done and undone)

9 Do not cast me away when I am old; (for I have divorced the ways of my youth and cast off the wickedness of the flesh)
do not forsake me when my strength is gone. (For it is your love and Grace upon which I rely upon to be sustained)

10 For my enemies speak against me; (because their hearts are hardened and they have become spiritually blind)
those who wait to kill me conspire together. (Those false teachers who have coerced others to become spiritually dead and by your words the dead shall cover the dead ashes to ashes and dust to dust)

11 They say, “God has forsaken him; (because they call out master but do not do what you say)
pursue him and seize him, (for they follow their own rituals and wickedness)
for no one will rescue him.” (As they know not of you’re true wisdom and grace)

12 Be not far from me, O God; (for your spirit is with me)
come quickly, O my God, to help me.

13 May my accusers perish in shame;
may those who want to harm me
be covered with scorn and disgrace.

14 But as for me, I will always have hope; (for my reward awaits me at the season of harvest)
I will praise you more and more. (for my lips speak of your way and my actions of your merit)


15 My mouth will tell of your righteousness,
of your salvation all day long,
though I know not its measure. (because it is immeasurable and eternal)

16 I will come and proclaim your mighty acts, O Sovereign LORD; (Holy Spirit of God)
I will proclaim your righteousness, yours alone. (giving Glory to God)

17 Since my youth, O God, you have taught me, (for it was you that sent your Holy Spirit to save the world out of compassion and love)
and to this day I declare your marvelous deeds.

18 Even when I am old and gray,
do not forsake me, O God,
till I declare your power to the next generation, (planting the seed in your vineyard as a mustard seed for the faithful)
your might to all who are to come. (Warning all those who oppose you so they might avoid unnecessary suffering)

19 Your righteousness reaches to the skies, O God, (for it was you who at a word commanded all things done and undone)
you who have done great things.
Who, O God, is like you?

20 Though you have made me see troubles, many and bitter, (trials and tribulations)
you will restore my life again; (as I am faithful)
from the depths of the earth (from which my flesh was made to grow into spirit)
you will again bring me up. (back to the spiritual being of which man once was)

21 You will increase my honor
and comfort me once again. (in your garden as you have harvested me from your vineyard)

22 I will praise you with the harp
for your faithfulness, O my God; (for the covenant we keep)
I will sing praise to you with the lyre, (with the Holy Spirit you have connected us all to the tree of life as strands flowing with life)
O Holy One of Israel. (The Holy Spirit)

23 My lips will shout for joy
when I sing praise to you—
I, whom you have redeemed.

24 My tongue will tell of your righteous acts
all day long,
for those who wanted to harm me
have been put to shame and confusion. (for as it was written you set them in derision)

~Minister Joseph Preston Kirk

5 thoughts on “Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven

  1. […] Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven (josephprestonkirk.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven (josephprestonkirk.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven (josephprestonkirk.wordpress.com) […]

  4. […] Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven (josephprestonkirk.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Psalm 71 a prayer to our father in heaven (josephprestonkirk.wordpress.com) […]

Post a Response

